When in doubt, jump in head first!

Do not follow where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

A couple of months ago, I joined an infertility support group.  It took me awhile to get there, because it meant truly admitting that we were “infertile” and it meant admitting, I needed support.  But we went to the meeting (and joined the online chat forum)  and it was wonderful.  I was with people who understood.  Really understood.  At our very first meeting, the leader announced that she was leaving in May and was hoping someone would take over the leadership.  No one had come forward to take over yet. 

And then I felt this hand in my back.  Pushing me forward and saying “it will be you“.

I kept my mouth shut, hoping someone else would come forward.  What they hell do I know about leading a support group?  And like I need one more thing to do!  It’s not good enought to just go to the meeting?  You think you have to organize it too?!  

But no one did.  And the little hand just kept pushing.  I couldn’t fight it.  I knew that I would be the one to keep this group rolling.  It’s my social butterfly self.  The social convenor.  The one who makes sure that get-togethers happen.  The one who throws herself a birthday bbq every year.  She knew that this group was too important to let it die.

So that’s it.  That’s how I came to be the leader of our local chapter of an IAAC support group.

 

 

2 responses to “When in doubt, jump in head first!

Leave a Reply

