The Other Shoe

I knew it was coming, I just didn’t know it would kick me in the fucking teeth.

Of the 15 eggs they retrieved, only 6 were mature.  And of those 6, only 4 fertilized.

Four.

That doesn’t leave a whole lot of room for anything else to go wrong.

For those who don’t know, they watch the embryos develop over the next 2 days and hopefully there is something to transfer on Sunday.  But just because an egg fertilizes, doesn’t mean that it will grow.

I’m so devastated and angry.  It’s not fucking fair.

7 responses to “The Other Shoe

  • Jen

    I’m so sorry you didn’t receive better news about your eggs. 😦 I’ll be praying that the four that were fertilized are perfect in every way.

    *hugs to you*

  • Heather

    I don’t know what to say… I’m teary writing to you, and am also praying for the best for those four little eggs.

    Sending you and C the biggest hugs I can give.
    xo

  • Dad

    So much stress Honey.,lets just keep hoping and praying that the four that did fertilize will continue to develope over the next 2 days and lets just say it will grow… continue to be strong and try to be optimistic..You deserve a break..You are on my mind always..Love you Sweetheart…xoxo

  • Mo

    Hi hon, just catching up on your progress. I’m so sorry about the bad fert report. But I’m going to be cheesy: It only takes one!
    Crossing my fingers that those eggs grow and develop as they should!
    xoxo

  • Tippy

    Oh huh. I’m sorry. 😦 I’m hoping those 4 are amazing… There are still 4 and there is always a possibility that all 4 are perfect and at least one will grow into your beautiful baby. It’s happened before. I’ve actually known about 4 women who had 2 embryos left on day 3 and they were all pregnant. It’s not time to give up hope yet 🙂 And if you don’t haven any, that’s ok. I’ll hold onto it for you.

  • Infertile Days

    I would be really upset too… I know IVF is a huge deal financially and emotionally. I have never done it but I do know that its not over yet!
    This really can still work out – I hope you can see that, and I hope I am right. I really hope those are the four best little eggs they saw fertilize and grow at their lab.
    Remember its not the quantity but the quality.
    Take care

  • TB

    I don’t know what to say….I have not stopped thinking about you guys…I’ll continue to pray…be strong my sweets…xo

Leave a Reply

