The Would Be Due Date

Perhaps, in some alternate universe, a nurse is handing my husband his new baby daughter today.  In this one, however, he got this…

It’s actually his belated father’s day gift from me.  It was totally random that he ended up getting it today.  He was supposed to get it on father’s day weekend, but it was a little more complicated than just walking in and getting it done.    After his consultation and what-not, this is the date they booked him for the inking.  Kind of interesting I suppose.

To be honest, today wasn’t as hard as last weekend.  I don’t know if I just had more idle time last weekend and thus, more time to think or what it was.  Or maybe it was that I never really thought she’d show up on July 7.  I always hoped she’d arrive on Canada Day.. because how cool would it be to have fireworks on your birthday every year?  Alas, it was not to be.

I want to give a big shout out to my IRL friends who remembered my due date this week.  We got a card and a gift card for a garden centre, I got texts this week, and today we got a beautiful bouquet of flowers from my three best scrappy pals.  It really means a lot to me that someone else remembered the significance of this day.  My friends have been absolutely pivotal in me surviving this whole ordeal.  They always say that you can’t choose your family, but you can sure choose your friends.  And I have chosen wonderful, beautiful, thoughtful women to be my friends.  I am eternally grateful for all of you and I love you all.

11 responses to “The Would Be Due Date

Leave a Reply

