17 +1, Oh Boy!

I’m officially more pregnant than I’ve ever been.  Doesn’t make me feel any less terrified, but I’m happy to have made it through my scary window.  In fact, I’m a little more terrified than ever.  Because I’m starting to adore this little guy.

Oh yeah, we’re having a boy.  I had an ultrasound at 16 weeks, and our little boy gave in to his momma’s bribe to buy him something blue/pink if he gave up the goods.  He proudly displayed his penis… legs splayed wide open.  Not a gentleman, for sure.

Universe help me, knowing that he’s a boy has made me even more attached.  (To be clear, it didn’t matter whether he was a boy or a girl, I mean knowing one way or the other has helped).  It makes him more concrete, instead of this abstract concept of “baby”.  Does that make sense?  And we’ve been calling him by his name.  He’s more real now.  Which, I suppose, is why my love for him is getting even stronger.

And in other news, we pulled off the band-aid and went Face.book official.  We never got to do that with Abby until after she was gone.  We told the FB world about her on Bereaved Mother’s Day.  It was scary to share on FB, but it needed to be done.  We needed to share our son with the world.

Our son.

Absolutely amazing.  It’s still sinking in.  I’ve told him he has to stay cooking for at least another 20 weeks.  I want nothing more in the world than for him to be our take home rainbow baby.

12 responses to “17 +1, Oh Boy!

  • Heather

    Can’t wait to meet and spoil this little guy. He is coming into the arms of the most deserving parents in the world and is so lucky to have you both xo

  • SM

    Congrats on the boy! There are a lot of boys due in the fall/winter in the blogosphere!

  • Courtney

    Delurking to say congrats on your BOY!

    I agree that knowing the gender helps you fall even more in love! It’s not that we don’t love them before we know their gender, but finding out their gender makes them more of a person to envision in our lives. I’m so glad you found out and are able to call him by name.

    A BOY! Boys are so fun!

    Congrats on making it this far. This boy is your take home rainbow baby – that’s for sure!

  • psychsarah

    I got chills and teary eyed reading this post. It’s so exciting to hear you speaking about your son. I’m looking so forward to meeting him (in 20 or more weeks of course). 🙂

  • Life

    a boy!!!! Congrats!!!! I have boys…..I love having boys!!!

  • marwil

    Congrats to a baby boy! And to be 17 weeks, that’s really great. Hope the rest goes smoothly, this little guy is so loved already. It’s cool that you have a name for him, that must make it more real if nothing else 🙂

  • Alicia

    Totally amazing! A boy!!! So exciting M. I’m so happy for you!!!

  • Anna

    Congratulations! A boy!

  • Judy Beeksma

    So happy you are having a boy…Congratulations!

  • Alissa

    So So exciting! Little boys are so much fun. I am happy for you my dear. Enjoy it because it goes by so fast.

  • Kelly

    Amazing! Congratulations. I am so happy for you and sending you all the best. I know what you mean about feeling more bonded once you know the sex of the baby. I felt that as well – the baby went from being “a baby” to our daughter. I look forward to hearing more.

  • sb

    K, I know I am late to respond (not too on top of my hectic life right now), but I wanted too so here I am!! Wow, a boy. I will have stuff for you:) Glad you are having enjoyment, despite the anxiety. You already are an amazing Mom.

Leave a Reply

